ACT Public Holidays

Public Holiday information for Australian Capital Territory and Canberra residents and visitors.

ACT Public Holidays 2024

Holiday TitleDateHoliday TypeArea
New Year’s DayMonday, 1 January 2024PublicACT Wide
Australia DayFriday, 26 January 2024PublicACT Wide
Canberra DayMonday, 11 March 2024PublicACT Wide
Good FridayFriday, 29 March 2024PublicACT Wide
Easter SaturdaySaturday, 30 March 2024PublicACT Wide
Easter SundaySunday, 31 March 2024PublicACT Wide
Easter MondayMonday, 1 April 2024PublicACT Wide
ANZAC DayThursday, 25 April 2024PublicACT Wide
Reconciliation DayMonday, 27 May 2024PublicACT Wide
King’s BirthdayMonday, 10 June 2024PublicACT Wide
Labour DayMonday, 7 October 2024PublicACT Wide
Christmas DayWednesday, 25 December 2024PublicACT Wide
Boxing DayThursday, 26 December 2024PublicACT Wide


ACT Specific Public Holidays

There are a total of seven public holidays that are observed nationally throughout Australia. In addition, each state has their own public holidays which are determined by local government entities.

There are no regional public holidays in the ACT. For example, Canberra public holiday dates are the same as Belconnen or Griffith.

The national public holidays that are observed by all states of Australia are:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Australia Day
  • Anzac Day
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • Christmas Day
  • Boxing Day

The public holidays that are exclusive to the Australian Capital Territory are:

  • Canberra Day
  • Reconciliation Day
  • King’s Birthday
  • Labour Day

Note that the King’s Birthday and Labour Day holiday are still observed in other states, however each state may set their own date for their public holiday.

Other States

View public holiday dates and school holiday dates for other states throughout Australia below:

Public Holidays

School Holidays